The first time I came to Korea was in late January 2004. I had never seen snow before, never heard any Korean and on my first night in Masan, my room mate and friend took me to a dvd room to watch “Please teach me English” with sub titles. The theme song from this movie is 진달래꽃 (Azalea) by female rocker, Maya. The song has always been significant of that first year I spent in Korea…so here it is as this week’s K-pop pet …even though…technically, it isn’t really pop at all… as a treat, I’m including a clip from the movie… If you watch the movie right up till the end, there’s some REALLY bad acting by a South African lady that will make your ears tweak…

The song actually follows on that clip…but for those who suffer of limited bandwidth…here’s a seperate clip of the song…

PS. Many of the toilets are unisex..

as an added bonus, I am also including the 트로트 (trot – short for foxtrot) song 사랑의 이름표 (Saranghae ireumpyo – pin your name on my heart). I love it, to the dismay of many of my hipper Korean friends…sorry guys…

The next is not quite so much of a peave…I own the CD afterall…but here is Boa with the title track from her 2004 release, My Name. Here she is only about 17 years old. Phew! If I were her mother… Boa’s popularity in Japan has skyrocketed and she now focusses mainly on that market.

