The latest K-pop sensation is the inspiration for this week’s K-pop Friday. Yi Hyo Ri, with Chitty Chitty Bang Bang ( or as I like to call it: Chitty Chitty Blank Blank), rediscovers unparalleled lows. In the beginning of the music video, Hyo Ri emerges from an alien ship in a wig that makes her look older in all the wrong ways. This, I am afraid to say, is the result of excess with reckless abandon.  Far be it from me to force pop fans to deal with the horror of pop detached from a little glamour. What I do have a problem with is the hemorrhaging of money for the sake of it. The music video, which must have cost a small fortune, would have been excusable if the song had some grain or texture…but I suppose that would have been a little pretentious. Here you have it, Hyo Ri with Chitty Chitty Bang Bang. Enjoy it with a bland sandwich.

I tried to find a Lee Hyo Ri song I wouldn’t mind my mom seeing…but I couldn’t find any that didn’t make me blush. If anyone finds one, please let me know. Here’s a song a little longer in tooth, but with all the hyperactivity and a touch of romance… it’s still plenty pop, CL and Minzy from 2NE1 with Please Don’t Go:

