I should have known when the bus was 5 minutes late this morning that I shouldn’t expect a very relaxing ride to school. Usually I have the leisure of sitting wherever I please as the bus is usually only occupied by about 4 or 5 other people, but ever since the season has opened the bus is perpetually crowded with tourists. This morning, everyone seemed to have grabbed a seat of their own, so I had to choose which ajoshi I was going to squeeze in next to. Lucky ajoshi. I picked the path of least resistance and plonked down in the front seat and tried to mind my own business.

Ulleung busses don’t have buzzers, so you just get up off your seat before the stop and the bus driver knows to stop. Also, one of my students were on the bus, and I expected him to ask the driver to stop in front of school. So, when my stop came up, I got up off my seat and then, within seconds, everything went horribly wrong. An ajuma adjusted my top at the back, and as I looked back to thank her, in that split moment the driver passed our stop. In panic, I exclaimed the bus to a sudden halt, which flung me forward, and as the bus driver mechanically opened the door, my foot got jammed in the concertina door. Panicked, I ripped it out and jumped off the bus as my student laughed at me from behind. The hysterics continued well into my first class with re-enactments and exaggerated dialogue. It’s so Hollywood…

