Mo’ Better Blues [Daehangno, Seoul]

I know I‘ve written on this café before, but I keep coming back. The plan was to set up office in a café with wireless free internet, and get all my camp preparation done, or at least as much of it as I could. The first stop was a Starbucks, because it had four guarantees, vanilla latte, pastrami, internet and aircon. Starbucks was a mess! It matched all four the criteria, but the pastrami wholewheat sandwich digested badly in the noise of screaming children and the sub zero climate all of which aggravated my headache. After trying to drown out the chaos surrounding me with squawky k-pop, I finally gave up hope and packed my laptop. The uphill walk to this little haven was a pleasure after the frosty aircon, and I settled myself on a sofa (yay) on the upper level of Mo’ Better Blues. Cool and comfortable, the waitress bought me a refreshing cup of tea and a retro bottle with ice cold water. I love Mo’ Better blues with its Daiso cups, Jazz Art and mismatched chairs. The interior is clean in spite of the well organized bric-a-brac. Little corners with books, or a designer chair piled with lap blankets lets you know the owners care about your comfort and want you to stay.

Many of Korea’s café’s are meant for drinks only so you won’t find a detailed menu with everything from starters to platters. Most of these shops won’t even have a kitchen. However, they will usually offer one or two kinds of snacks to share with friends. At Mo’ Better Blues you can have a bagel with your coffee in the morning or share a cheese platter or fruits with your companions. They do offer a comfortable variety of coffees and teas, hot and chilled. As a plus, you won’t have to trek up and down the stairs to order as they have a friendly waitress on staff to bring you refreshments and help you set up your internet connection.

The menu is set in a photo album and written by hand in Hangeul, so it helps if you can read it. Alternatively, just ask the waitress whether they have what you want in English. Bare in mind that Korea takes differently to café culture, so you may have to specify if you would like milk and honey/sugar with your earl grey tea, and you will have to fork out 6,000won (R36) for it, which is what you would pay for half a cup of instant sachet coffee in Ulleungdo, so it’s worth it if you need to escape the heat outside and want to find a little place where you can feel at home.

