So it’s my last something-twenty birthday, and I really wanted to celebrate. Not so much with a big birthday bash or anything, but inevitably with lots of great food and amazing friends. One of my dearest friends asked me for gift requests, and I suddenly remembered that she had a yet-to-be used ice-cream maker. I love surprises and creative gift ideas, and who doesn’t love interesting ice-cream? So it came to be that my friend set off to create a special ice-cream flavour just for me… OK, she used an existing recipe, but none-the-less, she got it just right with this beautiful, fragrant Persian Ice-cream. The saffron and rose water compliment each other in such a way that the flavour which seems oddly familiar has a mysterious allure. She finished off the treat with my favourite pistachio nuts and Double Delight rose petals. Luxuriously sweet, it’s my new favourite pleasure. The gorgeous hand-made bowl is available from CK-ramics.

