Kintsugi-bowl-honurushi-number-32

One thing I have desired of the Lord, That will I seek: That I may dwell in the house of the Lord All the days of my life, To behold the beauty of the Lord, And to inquire in His temple.

Psalm 27:4

It’s tempting to consider beauty as the measuring stick of myself as a woman. My perpetual fight to be seen or admired as beautiful.  My constant pursual of perfection. My constant fight for independence.

I am discovering the beauty of brokenness. A few years ago I worked as a potter’s apprentice and though this beautiful artform has taught me so much of God’s character it was the image of a mended tea vessel that stirred me most. Though the cup itself is quite beautiful, the most precious parts lie in the cracks. In the brokenness, in the fallibility, the weakness, the surrender. God inhabits my weakness. He redeemed that which was meant to destroy me, and turns it into our shared beauty. When I am reminded of my hurt and I am tempted to return to that place because it’s familiar, from today, I will no longer find my destruction, I will be met by the very life that saved me.

Suddenly my beauty is irrelevant.

image sourced from: [http://www.studiokotokoto.com/wp-content/uploads/2014/12/Kintsugi-bowl-honurushi-number-32.jpg]

