I walked past some reasonably priced artichokes at my local market the other day and had to buy  them. Then they procrastinated in my fridge for days before an urge led me to find out how to cook them.

I decided to chuck them in a saucepan with boiling water, garlic, lemon juice and salt. By the time I read through a more informative suggestion it was too late to prepare them properly and I just pulled them out when cooked, halved them and scooped out the choke. They didn’t look very appetizing so I covered them with seasoned bread crumbs and bathed them under the grill. Then I whipped up a tangy aioli and hummus and settled in front of the TV. Friday night dinner sorted and all with stuff I had in my supplies. It has become a bit of a tradition to try new things on Friday nights and it’s nice to make something special that didn’t call for a trip to the shops. Happy weekends!

