IMG_1439

I woke up this morning at 4 am to cook breakfast and do a few designs for a project. One of my new kids were still sleeping in the guest room after a long night of studying and I hoped the early morning would will me to do something amazing and all the while I experienced this deep, inexplicable sorrow. Not knowing what to do with how I felt, I wrote down a sentence:

Oswald felt a deep, inexplicable sadness as morning departed and a hot beam of sunlight willed him out his chair and thrust him into the day.

…a few people liked my sentence…though, I think neither of us knew why. That made me feel a little bit better, but I still felt like I needed to somehow define my inexplicable sadness to make it understood. So I did what any respectable person of my generation would do: I asked google. Google suggested John Koenig’s “Dictionary of Obscure Sorrows” which contains pages full of emotions one might have found yourself trying to explain lengthily, but which now have words dedicated to themselves, like plant species. Here’s a few from: The Dictionary of Obscure Sorrows.

